KUSD schools honored with Wisconsin Title I School of Recognition awards

KUSD news release

State Superintendent Carolyn Stanford Taylor recognizes Frank, Grewenow, Harvey and Roosevelt elementary schools as being among 107 schools in the state that received Wisconsin Title I School of Recognition honors in the 2019-20 school year.

The Schools of Recognition award is presented to schools leveraging federal Title I funding to provide additional resources and services to economically disadvantaged students. The staff and students of Harvey Elementary School earned an award for showing a high level of progression, and the staff and students of Frank, Grewenow and Roosevelt elementary schools earned an award for Beating the Odds. Additionally, it is the fifth consecutive year Grewenow has earned the award.

Criteria for receiving a Schools of Recognition award includes reaching goals for test participation, attendance, and graduation rates. Additional criteria, and a full description of award categories can be found on the DPI’s website.

“This recognition is a true indicator of the hard work of our staff in our Title I schools,” KUSD Superintendent Dr. Sue Savaglio-Jarvis said. “Their tireless dedication helps many of our students turn adversity into success, and we are forever grateful for all they do for our students, families and community.”