ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF THE KENOSHA UNIFIED SCHOOL BOARD HELD APRIL 29, 2025

An organizational meeting of the Kenosha Unified School Board was held on Tuesday, April 29, 2025, at 6:30 p.m. in the ESC Board Meeting Room. Mrs. Modder, President, presided.

Mrs. Modder called the meeting to order at 6:29 p.m. with the following members present: Mr. Bryan, Ms. Adams, Mr. Price, Mr. Tierney, Mrs. Landry, Ms. Stevens, and Mrs. Modder. Dr. Weiss was also present.

Mrs. Modder opened the meeting by announcing that this was the organizational meeting of the School Board of Kenosha Unified School District. Notice of this organizational meeting was given to the public by forwarding the complete agenda to all requesting radio stations and newspapers. Copies of the complete agenda are available for inspection at all public schools and at the Superintendent's Office. Anyone desiring information as to forthcoming meetings should contact the Superintendent's Office.

Mrs. Modder, School Board President, asked Ms. Stevens and Mr. Bryan to step forward individually and repeat the Oath of Office. Mrs. Modder swore in Ms. Stevens and Mr. Bryan, who were elected to three-year terms at the April 1, 2025 election.

Mrs. Modder noted that nominations were then in order for Board President, Vice-President, Treasurer, Clerk, and Secretary.

Mr. Price nominated Mrs. Modder for President. Second by Ms. Stevens. There being no further nominations, Mrs. Modder moved that nominations be closed and that Mrs. Modder be elected as President by acclimation. Motion carried unanimously.

Ms. Adams nominated Mr. Bryan for Vice President. Second by Ms. Stevens. There being no further nominations, Mrs. Modder moved that nominations be closed and that Mr. Bryan be elected as Vice President by acclimation. Motion carried unanimously.

Mrs. Landry nominated Mr. Tierney for Treasurer. Second by Ms. Stevens. There being no further nominations, Mrs. Modder moved that nominations be closed and that Mr. Tierney be elected as Treasurer by acclimation. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Bryan nominated Mr. Price for Clerk. Second by Ms. Stevens. There being no further nominations, Mrs. Modder moved that nominations be closed and that Mr. Price be elected as Clerk by acclimation. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Price moved that the School Board meetings continue to be held at 7:00 p.m. on the fourth Tuesday of each month at the John J. Hosmanek Educational Support Center and school sites to be determined. Second by Ms. Stevens. Motion carried unanimously.

Mrs. Ewing distributed the drawing containers to each board member, noted the numbers, and announced the new voting order as follows:

- 1. Ms. Adams
- 2. Mr. Bryan
- 3. Mrs. Landry
- 4. Mr. Tierney
- 5. Ms. Stevens
- 6. Mr. Price
- 7. Mrs. Modder

Mrs. Modder noted that no action will be taken on board committees at this time. The Board President will confer with the Board Secretary and she will be in touch with board members in regards to committee preferences and assignments.

Mr. Bryan moved that the School Board authorize the President's signature to appear on all checks as the third signature with the Clerk and Treasurer and authorize the use of facsimile signatures of the President, Clerk and Treasurer on all checks. Second by Mr. Price. Motion carried unanimously.

Mrs. Landry moved that the School Board approve the list of legal firms as contained in the agenda. Second by Mr. Tierney. Motion carried unanimously.

Ms. Adams moved that the School Board adopt the attached Schedule of Authorized Public Depositories and assign the Chief Financial Officer the authority to approve draws as needed, in the form of the \$2,000,000 Line of Credit through Johnson Bank. Second by Mr. Bryan. Motion carried unanimously.

Ms. Stevens moved that Mr. Price be appointed as board delegate and participate as so at the CESA #1 annual convention on May 20, 2025. Second by Mr. Bryan. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion to Adjourn was made by Ms. Stevens. Second by Mrs. Landry. Motion carried unanimously.

Meeting adjourned at 6:38 p.m.

Denise Ewing School Board Secretary