Choice/charter schools

Each student in the Kenosha Unified School District is assigned to a school based on the boundary in which they live. However, every student has the option to attend other schools by choice.

Choice and charter schools offer the same core subjects and have the same graduation requirements as the rest of the schools in the district. However, their delivery technique and electives may vary depending on the school’s focus and emphasis.

What’s the difference between a choice and a charter school?

  • Choice schools are schools other than a student’s assigned boundary school that accept students based on an application process.
  • Charter schools are schools other than a student’s assigned boundary school that accept students based on a lottery system.​

2022 High School Selection Key Dates

  • HS open houses: Nov. 8 – Dec. 1
  • HS selection form emailed to 8th grade families: Monday, Nov. 28 
  • HS selection form due date:  Friday, Dec. 9
  • Choice/charter selection processes complete: Friday, Dec. 16
  • Choice/charter parent accept/deny notices mailed out: Friday, Dec. 16
  • Parent choice/charter accept or decline deadline: Friday, Jan. 13

2022 High School Open House Dates

  • Tuesday, Nov. 8
    • Harborside, 6 p.m. 
  • Thursday, Nov. 10
    • LakeView, 6 p.m. 
  • Tuesday, Nov. 15
    • Reuther, 6-7 p.m. 
  • Wednesday, Nov. 16  
    • ITHSA Academies, 6-7 p.m. 
  • Thursday, Nov. 17
  • Saturday, Nov. 19
  • Monday, Nov. 21
    • ITHSA Academies, 4:30-5:30 p.m.  
  • Tuesday, Nov. 29
    • ITHSA High School, 6-7 p.m. 
  • Wednesday, Nov. 30
    • Bradford, 6:30 p.m. 
  • Tuesday, Dec. 1
    • Tremper, 6:30 p.m.

KUSD Charter Schools

The Brompton School (K-8)

Dimensions of Learning Academy (K-8)

Harborside Academy (6-12)

Kenosha eSchool (K-12)

KTEC (4K-8)


KUSD Choice Schools

Dual Language Program

Indian Trail Academy (9-12)

LakeView Technology Academy (9-12)

Reuther Central High School (9-12)


KUSD Head Start Program

Chavez Learning Station


High School Virtual Tours