KUSD Inducts Members To Hall Of Fame | Kenosha Unified School District

KUSD Inducts Members To Hall Of Fame

On Saturday, May 9, 2015, the Kenosha Athletic Scholarship Foundation and Kenosha Unified School District hosted the 32nd Annual High School Athletic Hall of Fame Induction Ceremonial Banquet at Circa on Seventh. During the banquet, the Kenosha Athletic Scholarship Foundation awarded six, $1,000 scholarships to senior athletes from each of the district’s comprehensive high schools.

The Hall of Fame Banquet is the principal fundraiser for the Kenosha Athletic Scholarship Foundation, which funds scholarships awarded to six outstanding athletes from Bradford, Indian Trail and Tremper high schools annually. Over the last 32 years, the foundation awarded more than $100,000 to student athletes who continue their education at a college or university of their choice.

The following scholarships were awarded:

  • Donna Wolf-Steigerwaldt Jockey International Inc. Scholarship
    • Blake Root – Indian Trail High School and Academy

  • Pepsi Scholarship
    • Emma Dalton – Indian Trail High School and Academy

  • Dr. Fred Tenuta Memorial Scholarship
    • Noah Jensen – Tremper High School

  • Glenn McCulloch Memorial Scholarship
    • Sarah Konchan – Tremper High School

  • Kenosha Athletic Scholarship Foundation Scholarship
    • Anastasia Shwaiko – Bradford High School

  • Kenosha Athletic Scholarship Foundation Scholarship
    • Michael Mleczko – Bradford High School

Scholarship winners are selected by coaching staff and administration based on academic performance, athletic success and school involvement among other areas.

The evening also included the induction of four members to the Hall of Fame: Drake Otto, Bradford High School, 2004; Jenny Gelden-Ouweneel, Bradford High School, 2004; Elizabeth Wierick, Tremper High School, 2004 and Lauren Fennema, Tremper High School, 2004. Those elected to the Hall of Fame must have graduated from Kenosha Unified at least 10 years prior with high school athletic excellence.

Two additional awards also were presented:

  • 2015 Go Sports America Coach of the Year – Deb Bornhuetter
    • Deb Bornhuetter is the former head coach of the Tremper High School girls’ track team and current assistant coach of the Bradford High School girls’ track team. Bornhuetter was the head coach at Tremper when the girls’ team won back-to-back state championships in 2013 and 2014.

  • 2015 Meritorious Service Award – Jon Palmen
    ​• Jon Palmen is the founder of Go Sports America, which is a nonprofit group developed to support the sports programs in Kenosha. He also is the president of Athletic Republic in Kenosha, where he trains many local athletes and supports the Athletic Republic “Athlete of the Week” in the Kenosha News. Palmen’s support of the Kenosha sports community has contributed thousands of dollars to Kenosha’s sports programs.