Capitol ceremony celebrates 2016-17 Wisconsin Title I Schools of Recognition

State Superintendent Tony Evers praised Bose, Grant, Grewenow and Roosevelt Elementary Schools for being among 178 schools in the state that received Wisconsin Title I School of Recognition honors for the 2016-17 school year during a special May 1 ceremony at the State Capitol in Madison.

The state superintendent recognized 21 High-Achieving schools and 21 High-Progress schools as identified by results from 2015-16 statewide assessments; nine schools earned both High-Achieving and High-Progress honors. Four schools earned the award for a 10th consecutive year, while nine schools earned the award for a fifth consecutive year.

“Our Schools of Recognition are staffed by dedicated educators,” Evers said. “Their success is something to celebrate; it serves as an example of the importance of schools, families, and communities working together to ensure that every child graduates ready for college and careers.”

“These awards indicate that our dedicated, hard-working staff has gone above and beyond to help our students strive for success, even when faced with adversity. This is an extremely proud moment for Kenosha Unified’s staff and students,” said Dr. Sue Savaglio-Jarvis.

Bose, Grant, Grewenow and Roosevelt were recognized for being in the top 25 percent of high-poverty schools in the state and their students having above-average achievement in reading and mathematics when compared to schools from similarly sized districts, schools and poverty levels.

Tony Evers presenting awards to KUSD staff.