Community Connection | Kenosha Unified School District

Community Connection

Dream Playground Ambassador Program - Items Needed

 

Own Your Journey: Young Ladies Empowerment Conference - May 19

  • For young ladies 6th - 12th grade and their parents
  • 9:30 a.m. - 2 p.m.
  • Boys & Girls Club of Kenosha (1330 52nd St., Kenosha, WI 53140)
  • Breakout sessions highlighting self-identity, self-esteem and selfworth
  • Free breakfast and lunch
  • Awards to recognize stand-out Kenosha area young ladies
  • Teen dance performance
  • Keynote Speaker: Dionna Gavin, Organizational Development Business Partner, Froedtert Health
  • FREE to attend. Must pre-register. Limited space is available!
  • Register now
  • Event flier (PDF)

 

Lions Club Events - April, May, June

 

Southeastern Wisconsin College Bound Youth Basketball Camp - June 18-21

  • Age group: boys and girls 7-17 years old
  • Time: 8 - 11 a.m.
  • Location: Boys and Girls Club of Kenosha, 1330 52nd St. Kenosha, WI 53140
  • Cost: $75
  • More information
  • Registration

 

Camp Invention - June 18-22

  • Price $235 (before discount)
  • For children entering grades 1–6
  • All Saints Catholic School - South Campus | 7400 39th Avenue, Kenosha, WI 53142
  • June 18 - 22, 2018 from 9 a.m.-3:30 p.m.
  • More information (PDF)

 

Kenosha Police Summer Safety Program - June, July & Aug.

  • Registration is now open for the Kenosha Police Department’s Officer Friendly Summer Safety Program. Registration deadline is June 8, 2018.
  • This program will cover age appropriate safety related topics (bike safety, water safety, fire prevention, pedestrian safety).
  • Classes will be limited to 40 students.
  • Program flier
  • Register online

 

Lincoln Park Summer Program - June 18-August 24

  • DATE: June 18–August 24, 2018
  • TIME: Monday–Friday, 12–6 p.m.
  • WHO: Boys and girls, ages 6–18
  • LUNCH: Free lunch daily at 1:30 p.m.
  • Basketball, kickball, flag football, arts & crafts, music, movies, games room, video games, educational activities & more!
  • More information (PDF)

 

Anderson Arts Center

  • Creative Classes: Winter/Spring 2018
  • West Wing Student Gallery: Anderson Arts Center is proud to dedicate gallery space to display current art work by area schools.
  • Kids’ Summer Art Camp:
    • Mini Art Camp: June 19-20-21 (8 to Noon)
    • Art Camp for Teens: July 10-11-12 (9 to Noon)
    • Week One: July 23-27 (8 to Noon)
    • Week Two: July 30-August 3 (8 to Noon)
  • More information (PDF)

 

Girl Scouts

  • Southport Sisters Day Camp - Aug. 13–17
    • Trefoil Oaks Program Center
    • Monday–Friday from 9 a.m.-4 p.m.
    • Make new friends and hang out with just the girls.
    • Hike, swim, sing, act, play, and learn.
    • Meet cool high school students who will lead your group all week.
    • Camp flier (PDF)
  • Text Message Tips
    • Your girls is heading off to kindergarten soon - are you ready?
    • Girl Scouts can help you navigate this new adventure with expert tips and activities sent straight to your phone. Set her up for success in and out of the classroom!
    • Text DAISY to 59618 to have expert tips emailed to you, or visit girlscouts.org/daisy
    • More information (PDF)

 

Kenosha Public Library

 

Kenosha Community Health Center

  • You can get your child's physical, shots and sick visit done at Kenosha Community Health Center, Inc. with convenient locations and same day appointments with Pediatric and Family Nurse Practitioners. Let us help you maintain great oral health by utilizing preventative dentistry, which helps you and your family avoid cavities, gum diseases and more. Our dentists are dedicated to keeping your teeth healthy.
  • Flier (PDF)

 

Pringle Nature Center

 

Diettrich Farm Summer Horse Camp - June, July and Aug.

  • When you nurture and build a child's confidence, you are creating a leader who is less influenced by peer pressure. That is just one of the benefits we give your child at The Diettrich Farm. Here are some of the others: Self-­Empowerment, Responsibility, Leadership, Memory Skills, Team Building, and Intuition Safety Awareness.
  • Camps run from 10 a.m.–3 p.m. Before and after care is available upon request. Campers provide their own lunch.
  • More information (PDF)

 

RecPlex - Upcoming Programs

 

Seeking board members - Education Foundation of KenoshaEducation Foundation of Kenosha

Seeking Board Members

  • The Education Foundation of Kenosha was organized in 1980 to support the Kenosha Unified School District and its mission. The Foundation has financed a wide range of educational and enrichment projects not able to be funded through the District's normal budgetary allotments.
  • The Board raises and administers funds to support:
    • College scholarships for Kenosha K-12 students
    • Classroom grants to support K-12 teachers
  • Commitment:
    • Attend four board meetings per year
    • Promote and attend fundraising events
    • Participate on one subcommittee
  • INTERESTED? Send your resume and a letter of interest to Stacy Busby at sbusby@kusd.edu or 3600 52nd St., Kenosha, WI 53144
  • Learn more about the EFK at educationfoundationkenosha.org

 

Modern Music Program - Everyday after school

  • At the Boys & Girls Club Teen Center
  • Do you want to learn how to make beats, rap sing, and record in a real studio? Ask for Pete in the Teen Center
  • Ages 13-18
  • Flier

 

Adult Education Class to Learn English - Sept. 18, 2017-June 11, 2018

  • Mondays at Wilson Elementary
  • Free ESL classes develop your reading, writing, listening and speaking skills for work, education and everyday communication.
  • 4:45 - 6:15 p.m.
  • Free Childcare Available
  • English form (PDF)
  • Spanish form (PDF)

 

Adult Education Class to Learn English - Sept. 28, 2017-June 7, 2018

  • Thursdays at Curtis A. Strange Elementary
  • Free ESL classes develop your reading, writing, listening and speaking skills for work, education and everyday communication.
  • 3:30 - 4:45 p.m.
  • Free Childcare Available
  • English form (PDF)
  • Spanish form (PDF)

 

Adult Education Class to Learn English - Nov. 2, 2017-June 7, 2018

  • Thursdays at Forest Park Elementary
  • Free ESL classes develop your reading, writing, listening and speaking skills for work, education and everyday communication.
  • 4:30 - 5:30 p.m.
  • Free Childcare Available
  • English form (PDF)
  • Spanish form (PDF)

 

Summer Reading Skills Programs at UW-Parkside - June-Aug.

  • Programs for 4-year-old through 11th grade.
  • Call 1-800-978-9596 for more information or to register.
  • More information (PDF)

 

Everything Under the Sun 2017-2019 logoEverything Under the Sun - 2017-2019

A youth and family activity guide of things to do in the Kenosha area.

Download the guide (PDF)

 

Kenosha County Parks

 

Families with FoodShares Benefits

 

Sylvan of Kenosha - Free Advanced Reading Assessment for Juniors and Seniors

  • Call Sylvan and set up a free advanced reading assessment to find your effective reading rate.
  • More information (PDF)
General Document(s)
Form English
Everything Under the Sun PDF icon everything-under-sun.pdf
Sylvan of Kenosha - Free Advanced Reading Assessment for Juniors and Seniors PDF icon sylvan-reading.pdf
Lincoln Park Summer Program - June 18-August 24 PDF icon lincoln-park.pdf
Own Your Journey: Young Ladies Empowerment Conference - May 19 PDF icon own-your-journey.pdf
Dream Playground - items needed PDF icon dream-playground.pdf
Girl Scout Summer Camps - Aug. 13-17 PDF icon girl-scout-summer-camps.pdf
Girls Scouts - Text Tips for Kindergarteneres PDF icon girl-scouts-kindergarten.pdf
Lions Camp PDF icon lions-camp.pdf
Lions Newsletter PDF icon lions-newsletter.pdf
Camp Invention - June 18-22 PDF icon camp-invention.pdf
Kenosha Community Health Center PDF icon kchc.pdf
Pringle Nature Center Events - Winter/Spring PDF icon pringle.pdf
Summer Reading Skills Programs at UW-Parkside - June-Aug. PDF icon parkside-summer-reading.pdf
RecPlex: Indoor Soccer PDF icon recplex-indoor-soccer.pdf
Pringle Nature Center - Summer Camps PDF icon pringle-summer-camps.pdf
The Diettrich Farm Summer Horse Camp PDF icon diettrich-farm.pdf
Anderson Arts Center PDF icon anderson-arts.pdf
RecPlex: Baseball PDF icon recplex-baseball.pdf